BREAKING: APC Wins Ekiti Governorship Election( see full results)

Governorship Candidate of the All Progressives Congress , APC in Ekiti State, Mr Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji has been declared winner of the election held in the state on Saturday.

The Chief Returning Officer who doubles as the vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Kayode Adebowale announced the result of the exercise at the state INEC coalition Centre in Ado Ekiti.

Professor Adebowale explained that the APC Candidate Scored.187, 057 votes to beat other 15 Candidates.

According to professor Adebowale, the SPD Candidate, Chief Segun Oni polled 82, 211voted to come second while the PDP standard bearer, Otunba Bisi Kolawole got 67, 457 to emerge third position.

He disclosed that Ekiti State has 988, 923 registered voters out of which 360, 753 votes were cast.

Also, three Hundred and sixty thousand, 753 voters were accredited and 351, 865 votes were valid as 8, 888 votes were voided.

Mr Oyebanji is the anointed candidate of the incumbent governor, Kayode Fayemi.

Born December 21, 1967, Mr Oyebanji hails from Ikogosi-Ekiti, in Ekiti West local government.

Of the 16 local government areas in the state, Mr Oyebanji won 15 – Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ilejemeje, Moba, Ado-Ekiti, Ijero, Ekiti Southwest, Ido-Osi, Ise-Orun, Gbonyin, Oye, Ekiti West, Ikere, Emure, Ikole.

Mr Kolawole won in Efon local government area, his hometown.

In their reactions, the state agent Officer of the APC, Mr Kayode Babade described Mr Oyebanji’s victory as a welcome development and lauded INEC for conducting acceptable Governorship election in the state.

However, the state agent Officer of the SDP, Mr Owoseeni Ajayi rejected the result, saying that the poll was marred by vote buying.

Mr Ajayi maintained that SPD would challenge the outcome of the election in court.

Five state agents Officers of Politcal parties who were at the venue of the declaration, signed the result sheet and some were absent.

Earlier in his remarks, the Resident Electoral Commissioner for INEC in Ekiti State, Dr Adeniran Tella thanked the people of the state for their cooperation which led to the success of the poll.

Number of votes according to political parties

A – 166

AAC – 409

ADC – 5,997

ADP- 3,495

APC- 187,057

APGA- 376

All – 290

LP – 195

PRP- 1,980

NNPN- 529

PDP- 67457

SDP – 82,211



Registered voters – 989,224

Accredited voters – 365,438

Valid votes – 351,865

Rejected votes – 8888

Total votes cast – 360753

About Adeshola Akinwale

Check Also

Wema Bank Emerges Best Performing Bank in Half year 2022

Nigeria’s most innovative bank, Wema Bank Plc, has emerged the best performing bank in the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *